The 2014 “Our Writing Process” Blog Hop

Introduction to the hop:

Writers write, that’s what we do. Find out why and how in this new Blog Hop for 2014!

Shout to Madi Merek for tagging me last week on her blog.

Make sure to check out info on her upcoming debut Novella – Hello LalaLand coming out this April!

All the participants so far have answered the following four questions, and now it’s my turn to give you insight into this brain of mine. Proceed with caution …

Let’s go!

1) What am I working on right now?

As of right now, I’m actually finishing up edits on my debut novella—a contemporary, multi-cultural, erotic romance—RICOCHET.

What’s it about? How about I share the blurb?

“The Rebound Effect” states that in order to get over your ex, you have to get under someone else. At least, that’s what Miles Bedford’s best friend keeps telling him.

So when he’s suddenly ricocheted back into the single life, Miles has one thing in mind. The plan is simple, and his intentions are clear. He’s not looking for love. But sometimes all it takes it one person, and one weekend, to change everything.

***

OK, how about an excerpt, too? 

The tension in the air thickened, and the music became so loud it caused a ringing in my ear. None of that mattered.

Her words pissed me off. Gutted me. And I was officially done with the back and forth.

I pulled her over to a corner, twisting past dancing forms. Facing her against the wall, I stood with my chest to her back and blocked everyone’s view of her.

“Listen to me.” My voice was harsh, snarling. The cat and mouse game we’d been playing was fun at first. Now it seemed the only thing we’d accomplished was a bad case of blue balls for me, and insecurity in Noelle. She needed to snap out of it. No. I needed to snap her of it.

“Don’t ever question me again about the effect you have on me.” I grabbed her hand, putting it over the bulge in my pants. “This is your answer.” I bucked my hips. Snaking my hand around her waist, I lowered it slowly continuing when I heard her whine and whimpers over the bass of the speakers next to us. “Either you want me or you don’t, but no more playing games. I’m done with it.”

And that my friends is Miles!

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I don’t think my genre is one size fits all—I don’t think there are a lot of similarities like some people think. Yes, I’m a romance/erotica writer. Yes, we might have some of the same themes and ideas. But give five authors the same trope or prompt and you will be blessed with five completely different stories. We all differ in our own way, because we are all different people. I think the only thing we all have in common is that all we want is to give readers stories that will suck them in for at least a minute out of their day.

3)  Why do I write what I do?

I’m going to be lame for a second and regurgitate a line straight from my bio and say: I like reading things that are on the sexier side. So that’s what I try to write, too.

4) How does my writing process work?

I wish I had some deep answer—some great routine I could outline so people would know how serious I take my writing. Sadly, this was me when I saw this question:

Well … this is awkward. 

Credit: collegetimes.com

 

I don’t know.

I can tell you I DON’T sit around and wait for ‘inspiration’. In my world that would be a disaster waiting to happen because I would never get anything done. I’m easily distracted. Get me on tumblr or something and one funny dog GIF turns into an hour or more of mindless clicking.

Self-imposed deadlines work for me. The idea that I have to get this done by this time gets my ass in gear.

WC—writing circles, as well. Knowing that on the other side of the screen sits at least one other writer, typing away against an imaginary clock, and checking in to cheer lead for each other? I don’t know why it works—but it does.

Oh, and MUSIC! No matter the time and no matter my mood there is always music. I have playlists for when I need to get into angst mode. Playlists if I need to get hyped and write some sort of fast paced scene. And of course music for THOSE scenes. If you know what I mean. And I think you do *wink*

Annnndd that’s about it!

Stay tuned for more info on RICOCHET. It’s set to be released before the summer for sure. And we’re just going to pretend I never thought I’d actually have edits done in January. M’kay?

Wait … don’t go!

I’ve tagged three pretty amazing ladies and authors, and the deal is they’re going to let you into their thoughts on their writing process as well. Make sure to check them out, follow their pages, give them some love and tell them “Lolo” sent you :- )

I can’t wait to read more about their process next week!

______
______

 RE Hargrave

R.E. Hargrave 

R.E. Hargrave lives on the outskirts of Dallas, TX where she prides herself on being a domestic engineer. Married to her high school sweetheart, together they are raising three children from elementary age to college age. She is an avid reader, a sometimes quilter and now, a writer. Other hobbies include gardening and a love of a music.
 
A native ‘mutt,’ Hargrave has lived in New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Alabama, Texas, and California. She is fond of setting her stories on location in South Carolina and Texas, but its anybody’s guess as to what the genre will be! 
Blog   *** Facebook 
______
______

 S. Moose

S. Moose

My name is Saoching Moose, writing as S.Moose. I’m the author of the Never Letting Go series (Reaching Out For You, Holding Onto You and Next to Forever) and Teach Me Love. 
 
I live in Webster, NY with my Prince Charming, Kevin. A 2011 graduate of Saint John Fisher College, I’m an avid reader and writer. I’m always living my life to the fullest and enjoying the little things in life.
 
When I’m not in my writing cave, you can find me being silly with my family and friends. I’m a hopeless romantic and love all things girly and lovey dovey.

Blog *** Facebook ***

______
______

 AD ryan 

A.D. Ryan

Aspiring author just trying to make it in the big, scary publishing world.

Blog ***  Facebook 

______
______

 

Thanks for reading!!

~Lo

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “The 2014 “Our Writing Process” Blog Hop

  1. madimerek March 1, 2014 at 3:14 pm Reply

    Excellent! Excited you posted and can’t wait for your book!

  2. the writing process | March 29, 2014 at 9:03 pm Reply

    […] L Parks Alexandra Haughton Petra Grayson Jenne Hardt Madi Merek Rebecca Grace Allen Amy Jo Cousins Lore Ree Julia Kelly Alexis Anne Mary Chris Escobar Lashell […]

  3. My Writing Process | Elizabeth Barone March 29, 2014 at 11:09 pm Reply

    […] L Parks Alexandra Haughton Petra Grayson Jenne Hardt Madi Merek Rebecca Grace Allen Amy Jo Cousins Lore Ree Julia Kelly Alexis Anne Mary Chris Escobar Lashell Collins Tracie Puckett J.C. […]

  4. […] L Parks Alexandra Haughton Petra Grayson Jeanne Hardt Madi Merek Rebecca Grace Allen Amy Jo Cousins Lore Ree Julia Kelly Alexis Anne Mary Chris Escobar Lashell Collins Elizabeth Barone Tracie […]

Leave me your thoughts

